Skip to Content

Organization & Structure

The West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute's structure has been designed to provide transparency in daily processes and decision-making and to focus on tangible outcomes for long term sustainability.  Operational areas have been established to best serve investigators and provide clarity in processes and reporting. An org chart highlighting programmatic areas and staff leaders and administrative support staff is available here (PDF)

WVCTSI has established strong Internal Advisory and External Advisory Committees to provide guidance and oversight for the organization's leadership. 

Core leadership is comprised of faculty or clinical leaders in their respective areas who bring a wealth of expertise and knowledge to the dynamic WVCTSI team.

WVCTSI Core Leadership 

Administrative Core

Sally Hodder, MD - Administrative Core Director, PI and WVCTSI Director


Clinical Research Design, Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Sijin Wen, PhD – Director

Brad Price, PhD – Co-Director


Community Engagement and Outreach

Stephenie Kennedy-Rea, EdD – Director

Brianna Sheppard, PhD – Co-Director


Clinical Research Resources and Facilities

Judith Feinberg, MD - Director


Laboratory Technologies

Karen Martin, PhD – Co-Director

Ivan Martinez, PhD – Co-Director


Pilot Grants Program

Gary Rankin, PhD – Director; Associate WVCTSI Director

Matthew Dietz, MD – Co-Director


Professional Development

Courtney DeVries, PhD – Director

Joan M. Lakoski, PhD – Co Director


Tracking and Evaluation

Reagan Curtis, PhD – Director